Church Property Trustees - Trustee Biographies


Rt Revd Peter Carrell, BSc (Hon), BD, PhD (Chair)

On 9th February 2019, Peter was installed as the ninth Bishop of Christchurch.  Under Anglican (Diocese of Christchurch) Church Property Trust Act, Peter became the Chair of Church Property Trustees on his installation.


Revd Carolyn Robertson, MA, Post Grad. Dip in Theology, BA (Hon), BEd, PhD

Carolyn is the Assistant Curate in the Parish of East Christchurch.


Steve Wakefield, MCivilEng, BCom, BSc, FCA, Ch.M.IoD

Steve is a past partner of Deloitte.  He is a director of a number of companies and is a council member of the University of Canterbury.  He is overseeing the construction of the ‘Ravenscar House Museum’ that is to be gifted to the Canterbury Museum for the people of Christchurch, and which is being built to house the Wakefield art collection. 


Dr Corin Murfitt, BVSc; MRCVS, MNZVA, AAEP

Corin is a retired veterinarian.  He is a specialist equine vet and has been for many years consultant vet to Addington Raceway, Riccarton Park and other horse racing venues. Corin has held many roles within the Diocese including as a member of Standing Committee.


Robert Bijl, BCom, LLB (Hons), CA

Robert was appointed to the CPT Board by the Standing Committee of the Diocese of Christchurch in March 2019.  Robert is a Chartered Accountant with recent involvement in, amongst other things, the post-earthquake recovery programme at Lincoln University and the Christchurch Performing Arts Precinct.


Ms Sammy Mould, BRM, Post Grad. Dip in Theology 

Sammy is the Anglican Youth Ministry Developer.


Peter Flannery, Dip Bus Studies, CFA, AFA, FANZ

Peter is a Director of independent financial planning consultancy WISEplanning.


Simon Courtney BA (Hons), BCom

Simon is a company director. He is involved with community-owned companies located across the South Island. Simon has served as Chairman of Anglican Care Canterbury Westland, as the Treasurer of the Christchurch City Mission, and was awarded life membership of Anglican Social Services in 2016. He is a member of the St George’s Hospital Society Advisory Committee.


Chris Wilson, BBS, BArch (Hons). ANZIA

Chris, along with David Hill, founded Wilson and Hill Architects in 1995.  Chris has been a member of the Christ Church Cathedral Functional Design Committee assisting with the Concept Design for the reinstatement project.